Peyton Manning wins fourth MVP award

Posted on January 9, 2010. Filed under: Sports | Tags: , , , |

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning has won a record-setting fourth NFL Most Valuable Player award.

NBC Sports is reporting that Manning finished first in MVP voting by the 50-member Associated Press panel that chooses the award. He received 39½ votes, with second placed Drew Brees receiving 7½.

Manning also won in 2003 (sharing the award with Steve McNair), 2004 and 2008, breaking a tie with Brett Favre at three MVPs. Five players (Jim Brown, Johnny Unitas, Joe Montana, Kurt Warner and Steve Young) have won it twice.

Manning, the 2007 Super Bowl MVP when he won his only league championship, had a career-high 68.8 percent completion rate this season, with 4,500 passing yards and 33 touchdowns.


Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: